Page Index Toggle Pages: [1]  Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Yet Another Gun (Read 18922 times)
b0b
GeekCrew Administrator
FTP Server

The revolution will not
be televised.

Yet Another Gun
Nov 19th, 2005 at 10:22pm
Print Post  
I decided I needed another rifle.  Spanky, Mike and I went to On Target Gunshop in Kalamazoo tonight, and I decided it was time to buy the Russian SKS I've been drooling over for a few months now.  This is my first true surplus military rifle, a Chinese Norinco production of the Russian SKS chambered in 7.62x39.  Without further adieu...

I'm told that Chicks dig military rifles.

Here's a picture of the rifle beside my Springfield XD carry pistol for scale.  By the way, that is a bayonet you see extended.  Can I get a heck yeah?

Just to give you an idea of bullet scale, the cartridge on the top is what I carry in my pistol whenever I go out in public (assuming I'm not going to a "banned" place, like school or church).  It's a .40SW 165-grain Federal Hydrashok, which is a jacketed hollow-point.  These things look freakin' evil when viewed cone-first.

The second round is what I bought tonight for my SKS, a 195-grain 7.62x39mm Silver Bear ballpoint.  I bought five hundred rounds tonight, "just in case."  You can never have too much ammunition!

The third round is a .223 Remington, which is the standard ammunition used by the US military (and many others).  It's also a military surplus round, a 125-grain 5.56x45mm Wolf Ballpoint.  I've got several hundred rounds of that stuff, too.  As you can see, it's longer and thinner than the SKS/AK47 ammunition, with a smaller bullet.  This results in a significantly faster round with less displacement energy.  The two rounds are very different, but both are very effective at their respective duties.

I'm going to head to Mike's parents' house tomorrow night to try out my new toy, if anybody is interested in tagging along.  Say, 2:00pm, after church?

-b0b
(...w00t!)

IP Logged

MediaMaster