Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic What Brings Out Your Inner Geek? (Read 6763 times)
b0b
GeekCrew Administrator
FTP Server

The revolution will not
be televised.

What Brings Out Your Inner Geek?
Mar 6th, 2009 at 2:53pm
Print Post  
I've been shopping for a telephone.  Not a cell phone, just a regular ol' telephone to replace my mostly dead cordless phone from the late 90's.  Most people would just stop by the store of their choice, take a look at the available selection, and choose the phone that has the right options at the right price.

Not me.  I wanted the best darn phone system money could buy.  I seriously considered installing a business-grade PBX with handsets, but the price was out of my range.  I started studying up on small business phone systems and catching up on the latest technology.  900MHz, 2.4GHz, and 5.8GHz systems have gone the way of the dinosaur, and I wanted the latest and greatest 1.9GHz DECT 6.0 system on the market.  I researched the technology, the vendors, and their product lines.  I spent hours poring over various models, comparing features and reading reviews.  I finally settled on a Panasonic business base station with four handsets and every feature under the sun.  After I bought the system last night, I spent two hours reading every line of the install guide to ensure that every option was set to its optimal configuration.

What makes this so geeky?  I might spend a grand total of 15 minutes on our home phone in any given month.  All of this was for a love of the technology.

So what drives your geekery?  Which gadgets and gizmos have captured your attention lately?

-b0b
(...wonders what makes us all tick?)

IP Logged

MediaMaster
GeekCrew Administrator
FTP Server

Holy Xenu!

Re: What Brings Out Your Inner Geek?
Reply #1 - Mar 12th, 2009 at 10:40pm
Print Post  
More Powah!